Australia women’s Ashes squad announced, Alana King picked ahead of Amanda-Jade Wellington

After picking up 16 wickets at an average of 18.25 in the recently concluded WBBL for champions Perth Scorchers, uncapped Alana King has been picked ahead of Amanda-Jade Wellington in Australia’s Ashes squad for the multi-format series, which is all set to start from January 20, 2022, at the Adelaide Oval with the first T20I. 

On the other hand, after playing 21 matches for her national team, Wellington, who also represented Scorchers, had an impressive season bagging 23 wickets at 16.26. She bagged 5/8 in the Eliminator, which changed the fortunes for the current champions. 

Spinner Jess Jonassen and pacer Megan Schutt have been added to the squad after the duo missed the series against India. Interestingly, the squad misses out on Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux due to ACL and foot injuries respectively.

This was a tough selection process’ – Australia national selector

Stella Campbell, after picking a seven-wicket haul in a one-day game in WNCL, missed out on the 15-member squad. Interestingly, she has been included in the ‘A’ squad. Molineux is expected to return from injury prior to the ICC World Cup in New Zealand. Wareham is all set to miss the mega event and Commonwealth Games.

“This was a tough selection process with so many players coming off strong WBBL tournaments, but we’re confident we’ve selected a balanced, all-round squad with players who can perform across all three formats,” national selector Shawn Flegler said as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“The loss of Georgia Wareham to injury has presented Alana King with a great opportunity to show what she can do at this level and having improved in all facets of her game over the last few seasons, she’s well placed to play an important role in the series.

“While Georgia Redmayne, Stella Campbell, Maitlan Brown and Molly Strano have missed out from the India series due to a decrease in squad size, we know they’ll be able to lead the way with the ‘A’ side and will be able to slot straight into the side if the opportunity arises,” Flegler went on to add.

Australia will play three T20Is, one Test and three ODIs in the series. Meanwhile, Australia A and England A will also play three T20s and three one-dayers simultaneously.

Australia women’s Ashes squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck

Australia A women’s squad: Georgia Redmayne (c), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Phoebe Litchfield, Katie Mack, Courtney Sippel, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Georgia Voll, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Must Read