Sunday, September 19, 2021

Ban vs Aus 2021: BCB confirms the T20I series against Australia in August

Also Read

The Bangladesh Cricket Board(BCB) has confirmed that Australia Cricket will tour their country for a 5-match T20I series. All the games will be played in Dhaka starting from the 3rd of August to the 9th.

There were doubts regarding this tour due to safety reasons amid rising covid-19 cases in Bangladesh. But after agreeing upon the bio-secure arrangements, the tour has been given a green signal and will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. This will be Australia’s first tour to Bangladesh since 2017.

We would like to thank our friends at the Bangladesh Cricket Board for developing a detailed bio-security plan to keep players, staff and match officials safe. Both boards have worked extremely hard to do all we can to ensure the safety and wellbeing of everyone involved in the tour. We are looking forward to a competitive and entertaining series in Dhaka as both teams continue their preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup later this year,” Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said.

The BCB and Cricket Australia have worked tirelessly together for confirming the itinerary. Naturally this was a challenge due to the COVID-19 pandemic as ensuring health safety and security is a priority prerequisite for holding any cricket series in these times. I am pleased to say that a comprehensive bio-security plan is in place and will be implemented during the tour for the protection of players and staff of the two teams and the match officials,” BCB CEO Nizam Uddin Chowdhury said.

We are really looking forward to an exciting and enjoyable contest between Bangladesh and Australia as both teams play an attacking brand of cricket and have players suited to this format,” he added.

This short series will be a huge boost for both the teams ahead of the T20 World Cup to be held in UAE from October. The visiting Australian team is currently in West Indies for their ODI series after their disappointing T20I series where they lost 4-1 to the hosts. That tour will get over on the 25th of July.

With this Bangladesh series, the Aussies can get some game time in sun-continent conditions before the mega event happens in the UAE.

On the other hand, the hosts Bangladesh will benefit from playing a strong opponent like Australia before their qualification round in the ICC T20 World Cup. They are currently in Zimbabwe playing a multi-format series where they have expectedly dominated the proceedings.

Cricket Australia in their release mentioned that the same 20-member in West Indies will travel to Bangladesh for the series. Meaning the players like  David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis and Jhye Richardson aren’t part of the team.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade (vc), Adam Zampa.

Traveling reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha.

August 3 – Bangladesh vs Australia, 1st T20I

August 4 – Bangladesh vs Australia, 2nd T20I

August 6 – Bangladesh vs Australia, 3rd T20I

August 7 – Bangladesh vs Australia, 4th T20I

August 9 – Bangladesh vs Australia, 5th T20I

For all the latest cricket news, updates, live scores, and cricket fixtures log on to You can choose to like us on Facebook or Subscribe to our YouTube Channel otherwise You can also opt to follow us on Instagram or Twitter.

(Image Credits-Google)

Latest News

Related Articles