CSK vs RR IPL 2022 – Who won today’s IPL match? Man of the Match, Point Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap

Published on

Who won today’s IPL match?: In the 68th match of IPL 2022, Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings to secure their play in top 2 teams in IPL points table. Chasing a target of 151 runs, Rajasthan Royals finished the match in final over with 2 balls remaining to win by 5 wickets.

With the victory, Rajasthan Royals have got 18 points from 14 matches in IPL Points table while Chennai Super Kings finished the IPL 2022 with 8 points from 14 matches. The victory takes Rajasthan Royals to 2nd position and displace Lucknow Super Giants to 3rd place.

The last team will be determined after tomorrow’s match between Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians. If Delhi Capitals win then they will be qualify for the IPL 2022 playoffs otherwise RCB will be through.

Today’s IPL match result

After winning the toss, Chennai Super Kings skipper – MS Dhoni opted to bat first. Ruturaj Gaikwad failed as he scored just 2 runs and was dismissed in first over by Trent Boult. However Moeen Ali played brutal shots and took CSK to 75/1 at the end of powerplay.

Moeen scored his half-century off just 19 balls and he added 83 runs for 2nd wicket with Devon Conway. However, once Conway departed for 16 runs off 14 balls, there was a flurry of wickets for RR.

N Jagadeesan & Ambati Rayudu were dismissed in quick succession which left CSK at 95/4 after 10.2 overs. Skipper MS Dhoni tried to rebuild the innings and hold one end with Moeen Ali. But Rajasthan Royals bowlers led by Purple Cap holder Yuzvendra Chahal bowled superbly and restricted CSK to 150/6 in 20 overs.

Moeen Ali scored 93 runs off 57 balls as he was dismissed in final over by Obed McCoy who took 2 wickets for 20 runs. Yuzvendra Chahal also took 2 wickets while Trent Boult & Ashwin took 1 wicket each.

RR lost Buttler early once again

IPL 2022 Orange Cap holder – Jos Buttler was dismissed early once again. This time he was dismissed by Simarjeet Singh after scoring 2 runs. However Yashasvi Jaiswal continued in his sublime touch and scored another half-century.

RR skipper Sanju Samson was caught superbly by Mitchell Santner off his own bowling and Moeen then dismissed Devdutt Padikkal to reduce RR to 76/3 in 11.2 overs. Ravichandran Ashwin scored a crucial 40 runs off 23 balls to win the match for Rajasthan Royals and give them two shots for IPL 2022 final.

Today IPL match scorecard

Match 68 – CSK vs RR
Innings Team Score
1 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) 150/6 (20 Overs)
2 Rajasthan Royals (RR) 151/5 (19.4 Overs)
Result Rajasthan Royals (RR) won by 5 wickets

Man of the match today IPL

Rajasthan Royals allrounder – Ravichandran Ashwin declared as Player of the Match for his allround performance. Ashwin scored a crucial 40* runs off 23 balls when RR lost experienced batters at other end.

Earlier, during CSK innings Ravi Ashwin bowled shrewdly and gave just 28 runs in his 4 overs and took 1 wicket of Devon Conway. The fall of Conway’s wicket brought a flurry of wickets for RR as CSK could score only 75 runs in last 14 overs.

Today IPL match highlights

You can catch highlights of today’s IPL 2022 encounter between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) that took place at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai on official website of IPL. Here’s the link to the same:
Watch full highlights here

IPL 2022 Point Table

1Gujarat Titans (Q)1410400.31620
2Rajasthan Royals (Q)149500.29818
3Lucknow Super Giants (Q)149500.25118
4Royal Challengers Bangalore (Q)14860-0.25316
5Delhi Capitals147700.20414
6Kolkata Knight Riders146800.14612
7Punjab Kings13670-0.04312
8Sunrisers Hyderabad13670-0.2312
9Chennai Super Kings144100-0.2038
10Mumbai Indians144100-0.5068

IPL 2022 Orange Cap

1Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals171786357.53149.058345442116
2KL RahulLucknow Super Giants151561651.33135.384530243103
3Quinton de KockLucknow Super Giants151550836.29148.974723131140
4HH PandyaGujarat Titans151548744.27131.27491204487
5Shubman GillGujarat Titans161648334.5132.33511104296
6David MillerGujarat Titans161648168.71142.73322302994
7F du PlessisRoyal Challengers Bangalore161646831.2127.52491303196
8Shikhar DhawanPunjab Kings141446038.33122.67471203288
9SV SamsonRajasthan Royals171745828.63146.79432602155
10Deepak HoodaLucknow Super Giants151445132.21136.67361804059

IPL 2022 Purple Cap

1Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals171727680527117.7519.5215.115/40
2W HasarangaRoyal Challengers Bangalore161626571430117.5416.5413.155/18
3K RabadaPunjab Kings131323480406028.4617.6512.524/33
4Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad14142249.11444119.0320.1813.415/25
5KL YadavDelhi Capitals14142149.40419028.4419.9514.194/14
6Josh HazlewoodRoyal Challengers Bangalore12122046.31377018.1118.8513.954/25
7M ShamiGujarat Titans16162061048800824.418.33/25
8HV PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore15151953.32410017.6621.5816.894/34
9Rashid KhanGujarat Titans16161963.50421016.622.1620.164/24
10Prasidh KrishnaRajasthan Royals17171966.33551008.2929213/22

Latest Posts

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England series

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England...

Rohit Sharma will return as the skipper for the white ball series against England which will start with first T20I match on July 7....
ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID positive again

ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID...

Fast bowler - Jasprit Bumrah will be leading Indian cricket team in the rescheduled 5th test match against England which will be starting on...
ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

England announced their playing 11 for the rescheduled 5th Test Match against India that begins at Edgbaston on Friday. Legendary fast bowler - James...

Also Read

IPL 2023 – Mumbai Indians started preparing for next season with England tour for uncapped players

Most successful team in Indian Premier League history with 5 titles - Mumbai Indians...

IPL 2023 Teams, Captains & Coach – All details

In IPL 2023 - the upcoming season of world's most popular cricket league, there...

IPL 2023 – Schedule, Teams, Venue, Time Table, PDF, Points Table & Players details

The 16th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) will be played from 25...