DC vs MI IPL 2022 – Who won today’s IPL match? Man of the Match, Point Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap

Published on

Who won today’s IPL match?: In the 69th match of IPL 2022, Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets in a thrilling encounter. MI’s victory had eliminated Delhi Capitals out of IPL Playoffs contention and helped RCB progress further.

With the victory, Mumbai Indians finished the IPL 2022 season with a high note as they bagged 8 points from 14 matches in IPL Points table. On the other hand, Delhi Capitals missed the IPL 2022 Playoffs spot by a whisker. Royal Challengers Bangalore benefitted from DC’s loss against MI.

Today’s IPL match result

After winning the toss, Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma opted to field first. Delhi Capitals lost in-form David Warner & Mitchell Marsh early in the innings. Soon after, Prithvi Shaw & Sarfaraz Khan also got dismissed which resulted DC with 50/4 after 8.4 overs.

Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant tried to rebuild the innings with Rovman Powell but he was dismissed in 16th over to further dent DC’s recovery. Powell went on to score 43 runs off 34 balls with 4 sixes.

Axar Patel added handy 19 runs to help DC put a challenging total of 159/6 in 20 overs. Jasprit Bumrah once again stepped for MI with 3 wickets for 25 runs in 4 overs. Ramandeep Singh took 2 crucial wickets of Rishabh Pant & Shardul Thakur.

Rohit Sharma’s struggle continues

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma once again struggled to get going as his poor run of form continues. But after his departure Dewald Brevis & Ishan Kishan accelerate the run scoring after a slow start.

Ishan Kishan departed for 48 runs by Kuldeep Yadav in 12th over of the innings. In the same over, Rishabh Pant dropped a sitter to give a life to Dewald Brevis.

In the 15th over of the innings, Brevis was clean bowled by Shardul Thakur. On the next ball, Tim David got a feather edge to the ball which was caught by Rishabh Pant but umpire failed to spot that. Despite having 2 DRS reviews remaining, Rishabh opted against it. Once the TV replayed were displayed on the large screen, Pant was seen completely aghast with himself.

Tim David went on to score 34 runs off just 11 balls with 4 sixes and 2 boundaries while Ramandeep Singh scored 13 runs off 6 balls as Delhi Capitals hopes shattered to qualify for IPL 2022 playoffs.

Today IPL match scorecard

Match 69 – DC vs MI
Innings Team Score
1 Delhi Capitals (DC) 159/7 (20 Overs)
2 Mumbai Indians (MI) 160/5 (19.1 Overs)
Result Mumbai Indians (MI) won by 5 wickets


Today IPL match highlights

You can catch highlights of today’s IPL 2022 encounter between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Mumbai Indians (MI) that took place at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on official website of IPL. Here’s the link to the same:
Watch full highlights here

IPL 2022 Point Table

1Gujarat Titans (Q)1410400.31620
2Rajasthan Royals (Q)149500.29818
3Lucknow Super Giants (Q)149500.25118
4Royal Challengers Bangalore (Q)14860-0.25316
5Delhi Capitals147700.20414
6Kolkata Knight Riders146800.14612
7Punjab Kings13670-0.04312
8Sunrisers Hyderabad13670-0.2312
9Chennai Super Kings144100-0.2038
10Mumbai Indians144100-0.5068

IPL 2022 Orange Cap

1Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals171786357.53149.058345442116
2KL RahulLucknow Super Giants151561651.33135.384530243103
3Quinton de KockLucknow Super Giants151550836.29148.974723131140
4HH PandyaGujarat Titans151548744.27131.27491204487
5Shubman GillGujarat Titans161648334.5132.33511104296
6David MillerGujarat Titans161648168.71142.73322302994
7F du PlessisRoyal Challengers Bangalore161646831.2127.52491303196
8Shikhar DhawanPunjab Kings141446038.33122.67471203288
9SV SamsonRajasthan Royals171745828.63146.79432602155
10Deepak HoodaLucknow Super Giants151445132.21136.67361804059

IPL 2022 Purple Cap

1Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals171727680527117.7519.5215.115/40
2W HasarangaRoyal Challengers Bangalore161626571430117.5416.5413.155/18
3K RabadaPunjab Kings131323480406028.4617.6512.524/33
4Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad14142249.11444119.0320.1813.415/25
5KL YadavDelhi Capitals14142149.40419028.4419.9514.194/14
6Josh HazlewoodRoyal Challengers Bangalore12122046.31377018.1118.8513.954/25
7M ShamiGujarat Titans16162061048800824.418.33/25
8HV PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore15151953.32410017.6621.5816.894/34
9Rashid KhanGujarat Titans16161963.50421016.622.1620.164/24
10Prasidh KrishnaRajasthan Royals17171966.33551008.2929213/22

Latest Posts

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England series

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England...

Rohit Sharma will return as the skipper for the white ball series against England which will start with first T20I match on July 7....
ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID positive again

ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID...

Fast bowler - Jasprit Bumrah will be leading Indian cricket team in the rescheduled 5th test match against England which will be starting on...
ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

England announced their playing 11 for the rescheduled 5th Test Match against India that begins at Edgbaston on Friday. Legendary fast bowler - James...

Also Read

IPL 2023 – Mumbai Indians started preparing for next season with England tour for uncapped players

Most successful team in Indian Premier League history with 5 titles - Mumbai Indians...

IPL 2023 Teams, Captains & Coach – All details

In IPL 2023 - the upcoming season of world's most popular cricket league, there...

IPL 2023 – Schedule, Teams, Venue, Time Table, PDF, Points Table & Players details

The 16th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) will be played from 25...