DC vs PBKS IPL 2022 – Who won today’s IPL match? Man of the Match, Point Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap

Published on

Who won today’s IPL match?: In the 64th match of IPL 2022, Delhi Capitals registered  a thumping victory to win the today IPL match against Punjab Kings. The victory helped DC to get closer to IPL playoffs spot.

With the victory Delhi Capitals moved to fourth place in IPL Points table while Punjab Kings remained at 7th place. But their hopes to qualify for IPL Playoffs are getting slim. Delhi Capitals set a target of 160 runs but Punjab Kings fell short to lose the match by 17 runs.

Today’s IPL match result

After winning the toss, PBKS skipper Mayank Agarwal opted to field first to take the advantage of dew in second innings. Punjab Kings made no changes to the playing 11 while Delhi Capitals made 2 changes to the playing 11. Sarfaraz Khan & Khaleel Ahmed comes in for Chetan Sakariya & KS Bharat.

Delhi’s in-form opener – David Warner was dismissed for a golden duck as he was caught at point by Rahul Chahar off Liam Livingstone. However, last match’s hero – Mitchell Marsh once again played a sensible knock on a sluggish pitch. Marsh scored 63 off 48 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Sarfaraz took maximum use of powerplay restrictions with 32 runs off 16 balls as Delhi added raced away to 74/2 in 8 overs. But they soon lost 3 wickets in quick succession to 112/5. Mitchell Marsh & Axar Patel tried to take DC towards 175 runs but eventually ended up with 159/7.

PBKS slipped in chase after quick start

PBKS openers – Jonny Bairstow & Shikhar Dhawan started aggressively in powerplay to add 38 runs within 4 overs. Anrich Nortje dismissed Bairstow to provide the first opening for DC.

Shardul Thakur dismissed Bhanuka Rajapaksa & Shikhar Dhawan in last over of powerplay to reduce PBKS to 54/3. PBKS lost Livingstone & Skipper Mayank Agarwal and then Harpreet Brar & Rishi Dhawan to lose the momentum.

Jitesh Sharma & Rahul Chahar played good cameos to keep PBKS in hunt but they fell short in the end as DC won the match. David Warner took a stunning catch to dismiss Jitesh in 18th over to seal the match. Shardul Thakur took 4 wickets while Kuldeep Yadav & Axar Patel took 2 wickets each.

Today IPL match scorecard

Match 64 – DC vs PBKS
Innings Team Score
1 Delhi Capitals (DC) 159/7 (20 Overs)
2 Punjab Kings (PBKS) 142/9 (20 Overs)
Result Delhi Capitals (DC) won by 17 runs

Man of the match today IPL

Delhi Capitals Shardul Thakur was declared as Player of the Match for his splendid bowling effort. Thakur dismissed Bhanuka Rajapaksa & Shikhar Dhawan in 6th over to derail PBKS chase.

Thakur returned in death overs to dismiss Jitesh Sharma & Kagiso Rabada. Shardul finished with 4 wickets for 36 runs in his spell

Today IPL match highlights

You can catch highlights of today’s IPL 2022 encounter between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) that took place at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai on official website of IPL. Here’s the link to the same:
Watch full highlights here

IPL 2022 Point Table

1Gujarat Titans (Q)1410400.31620
2Rajasthan Royals (Q)149500.29818
3Lucknow Super Giants (Q)149500.25118
4Royal Challengers Bangalore (Q)14860-0.25316
5Delhi Capitals147700.20414
6Kolkata Knight Riders146800.14612
7Punjab Kings13670-0.04312
8Sunrisers Hyderabad13670-0.2312
9Chennai Super Kings144100-0.2038
10Mumbai Indians144100-0.5068

IPL 2022 Orange Cap

1Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals171786357.53149.058345442116
2KL RahulLucknow Super Giants151561651.33135.384530243103
3Quinton de KockLucknow Super Giants151550836.29148.974723131140
4HH PandyaGujarat Titans151548744.27131.27491204487
5Shubman GillGujarat Titans161648334.5132.33511104296
6David MillerGujarat Titans161648168.71142.73322302994
7F du PlessisRoyal Challengers Bangalore161646831.2127.52491303196
8Shikhar DhawanPunjab Kings141446038.33122.67471203288
9SV SamsonRajasthan Royals171745828.63146.79432602155
10Deepak HoodaLucknow Super Giants151445132.21136.67361804059

IPL 2022 Purple Cap

1Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals171727680527117.7519.5215.115/40
2W HasarangaRoyal Challengers Bangalore161626571430117.5416.5413.155/18
3K RabadaPunjab Kings131323480406028.4617.6512.524/33
4Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad14142249.11444119.0320.1813.415/25
5KL YadavDelhi Capitals14142149.40419028.4419.9514.194/14
6Josh HazlewoodRoyal Challengers Bangalore12122046.31377018.1118.8513.954/25
7M ShamiGujarat Titans16162061048800824.418.33/25
8HV PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore15151953.32410017.6621.5816.894/34
9Rashid KhanGujarat Titans16161963.50421016.622.1620.164/24
10Prasidh KrishnaRajasthan Royals17171966.33551008.2929213/22

Latest Posts

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England series

Sanju Samson, Ruturaj dropped as Rohit Sharma returns to lead white-ball squads for England...

Rohit Sharma will return as the skipper for the white ball series against England which will start with first T20I match on July 7....
ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID positive again

ENG vs IND 5th Test: Jasprit Bumrah to lead India as Rohit tested COVID...

Fast bowler - Jasprit Bumrah will be leading Indian cricket team in the rescheduled 5th test match against England which will be starting on...
ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

ENG vs IND 5th Test: James Anderson Returns As England Name Playing XI

England announced their playing 11 for the rescheduled 5th Test Match against India that begins at Edgbaston on Friday. Legendary fast bowler - James...

Also Read

IPL 2023 – Mumbai Indians started preparing for next season with England tour for uncapped players

Most successful team in Indian Premier League history with 5 titles - Mumbai Indians...

IPL 2023 Teams, Captains & Coach – All details

In IPL 2023 - the upcoming season of world's most popular cricket league, there...

IPL 2023 – Schedule, Teams, Venue, Time Table, PDF, Points Table & Players details

The 16th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) will be played from 25...