Devdutt Padikkal registers his 4th successive List-A ton in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021, joins 3 other players in doing so

Karnataka and Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman Devdutt Padikkal slammed his 4th consecutive List A ton(includes both ODI and domestic) in the Quarter-Finals match against Kerela in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy, India’s premier domestic List-A tournament.

The 20-year old had been in a stunning form throughout this season starting from IPL 2020 where he was the leading run-scorer for the RCB in his debut season. He continued his rich vein of form in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy which happened in January and came into this Vijay Hazare Trophy(VHT) with immense confidence.

In the VHT the left-hander had scores of 52, 97,152, 126*, and 145* in the 5 league games before he stroked his way to hit his 6th List A ton(101) against Kerala in the quarters. With this, he became the first Indian to score 4 consecutive ton in the 50 overs format of the game.

Padikkal became just the 4th player in the history of List-A cricket history to manage this. He has joined former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara who achieved that feat in the ICC World Cup 2015, former South African opener Alviro  Peterson who did the same in the Momentum cup 2015-16, and Pakistan batsman Khurram Manzoor.

Padikkal’s 249-run opening partnership with skipper Ravikumar Samrath who scored 192 helped Karnataka amass 338 which was 80 runs too much for Kerala as they got bowled out for 258. With this Karnataka has reached the Semi-Finals.

Devdutt Padikkal with a century scoring spree has put himself in contention for a maiden national call-up at some point in time in the future. He will be next seen in the IPL 2021 where he will don the RCB colors once again under the leadership of Virat Kohli.

For all latest cricket news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to You can choose to like us on Facebook or Subscribe to our YouTube Channel otherwise You can also opt to follow us on Instagram or Twitter.


Must Read