Indian Premier League: 5 largest victory margins in the IPL

Over the years, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has given us fans several nail-biting thrillers that have gone down to the very last ball. But, in some matches, one team has been so good that they have simply decimated their opponents. In these cases, the losing teams have had little or no chance of ever crawling back.

More often than not, these wins have been due to a single player eclipsing everyone else on the field with the bat, ball, or sometimes both. In this article, we look at five such instances where a team has lost by a big margin.

1) Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Pune Warriors India, IPL 2013: 130 runs

This Indian Premier League match is best remembered for Chris Gayle’s blistering 175 at the Chinnaswamy. The knock comprised of a record 13 fours and 17 sixes including a 37-run over off Prasanth Parameshwaran. This unique feat was achieved again in 2021 by RCB’s Harshal Patel as Ravindra Jadeja smashed him all around the park. AB de Villiers in his usual fashion finished things off in style as the team set a mammoth target of 263 for the visiting team to chase.

Ravi Rampaul and Jayadev Unadkat tore through the lineup as Pune Warriors India succumbed to a measly 133.

In addition, Chris Gayle found himself among the wickets with 2 scalps to his name. With that, RCB managed to beat the Aaron Finch-led side comprehensively by 130 runs.

2) Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings, 2015: 138 runs

RCB featured in yet another match-winning batting display from the Caribbean behemoth. Chris Gayle dismantled Punjab Kings’ lean bowling attack, scoring 117 runs off 57 balls. 12 sixes and 7 fours were the boundary tally as Gayle finished with a stunning strike rate of 205.26. Upon his dismissal, De Villiers kept the momentum going with a quickfire 47. As a result, RCB posted a monstrous 226 at the end of their 20 overs.

Aussie pacer Mitchell Starc and local boy Sreenath Arvind shared amongst them the bowling load. They took 8 wickets as Punjab collapsed for a paltry 88.

Axar Patel was the only silver lining in the Kings’ disastrous innings. But, in the end, he was left with too much to do as the visitors were slapped with a 138-run defeat.

3) Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2008: 140 runs

In the inaugural match of the Indian Premier League, Brendon McCullum lit up the Chinnaswamy with a fearless 158 off 73 balls. 13 sixes and 10 fours came off his bat as KKR announced their arrival to the scene.

Rahul Dravid’s home side had no answers to the raw pace of Ajit Agarkar and Ishant Sharma. RCB were tattering with none of their recognized batsmen getting to a double-digit score. In the end, Sourav Ganguly’s KKR prevailed with a thumping 140-run win over the home team.

ALSO READ- Three foreigners who have been IPL captains but not captained their nation

4) Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions, 2016: 144 runs

Virat Kohli and AB de Villers both smashed centuries in this IPL match as RCB sported the green jersey. Kohli’s 109 came off 55 balls while De Villiers fierce 129 came off just 52 balls. They both looked aggressive from the get-go, smashing Dwayne Bravo for 46 runs in 3 overs.

Gujarat Lions chasing 249 for the win looked rather tame from the beginning. Kohli used as many as 9 different bowling options. In the end, the visitors were restricted to 104 which meant that RCB won by a huge margin of 144 runs.

5) Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals, IPL-2017: 146 runs

Mumbai Indians were asked to bat first and they made a mighty 212 in 20 overs, powered by Lendl Simmons’ commanding knock of 66 from 43 balls and a late cameo by Hardik Pandya who finished with 3 sixes and a four.

Delhi Capitals had the worst start imaginable losing an in-form Samson off the very first ball. Then on, it was all a downward spiral as DC continued to lose wickets in quick succession. The spin duo of Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma wreaked havoc taking 3 wickets each.

For all the latest cricket news, updates, live scores, and cricket fixtures log on to You can choose to like us on Facebook or Subscribe to our YouTube Channel otherwise You can also opt to follow us on Instagram or Twitter.

(Image Courtesy:

Shreyas D S
A devoted fan of the game ever since I was a foetus, I now write articles to make up for the fact that I wasn't picked for the roadside gully cricket league.

Must Read