IPL 2022 Delhi Capitals – DC Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value

Delhi Capitals (DC) is a team that has risen particularly in the last few seasons of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was initially named Delhi Daredevils from 2008 until 2019, where the name was changed to Delhi Capitals, a move that got them success as well. Delhi Capitals has done well in the recent past with a good blend of youngsters and experienced players.

The likes of Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant have made a mark for themselves through Delhi Capitals in the IPL. Although the franchise has never won the IPL, they have gained popularity over the last three seasons. They have played a fearless brand of cricket and have thus developed to be one of the teams to beat in the league.

Delhi Capitals had their most successful season in the IPL in 2020. They reached their first ever IPL final. Unfortunately, they lost to Mumbai Indians in the finals. In the 2021 season, they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier. The Capitals have retained Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje ahead of the 2022 edition.

DC Team in IPL (Image Credits – Twitter)

Who is the Owner of Delhi Capitals (DC) Team?

Delhi Capitals (DC) is co-owned by the GMR Group and the JSW Group. The team was bought by co-owner Kiran Kumar Grandhi in 2008 for US$84 million. GMR Group is a property development company. It is an Indian multinational conglomerate, headquartered in New Delhi. The group comprises of several companies including GMR Infrastructure, GMR Energy, GMR Airports, GMR Enterprises etc.

However, in March 2018, GMR sold a 50 percent stake in Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) to JSW Sports for Rs 550 crore (US$73 million). Therefore, the DC is now co-owned by the GMR Group and the JSW Group.

Parth Jindal is the director of JSW Sports. JSW Sports currently runs the ISL franchise Bengaluru FC as well as Inspire Institute of Sport. They also run the Sports Excellence Program that provides training to elite Indian Olympic Athletes.

What’s the Brand Value for Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL?

As per the financial survey, the brand value of Delhi Capitals (DC) team was estimated to be around INR 386 crores or US$52.2 million.

Delhi Capitals Logo

IPL 2022 Delhi Capitals – DC Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value


Delhi Capitals Team FAQ’s

  • DC Owner Name

GMR Group and JSW Group

  • DC Squad 2021

Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Steven Smith, Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Lalit Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Umesh Yadav, Chris Woakes, Aniruddha Joshi, Sam Billings, Lukman Meriwala, Tom Curran, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje, Vishnu Vinod, Manimaran Siddharth, Shams Mulani, Ripal Patel.

  • DC Retained Players

Rishabh Pant (16Cr), Axar Patel (9Cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5Cr), Anrich Nortje (6.5Cr)

  • DC remaining purse value

INR 47.5 Crores

  • DC Full Form

Delhi Capitals

  • DC Jersey

DC wears a Navy Blue and Red Jersey

  • How Many times DC won IPL?

DC have never won any IPL title. However, they reached the IPL finals in 2020 and lost to Mumbai Indians. They have made it to the playoffs on six occasions in the history of the league.

  • DC Followers

DC team has a decent amount of followers across various social media platforms:

YouTube: 535K Subscribers

Twitter: 2.1M Followers

Instagram: 2.9M Followers

Facebook: 7.7M Followers

Must Read