IPL 2022 – List of all IPL 2022 Team Owners

Indian Premier League has completely changed the sports arena in India. It has emerged as one of the best sports league in the world and the premier cricket league. IPL is nothing less than a festival for cricket fans not only from India but from all over the world.

Indian Premier League (IPL) is most viewed cricket league in the world. For the upcoming IPL 2022, there will be a total 10 teams participating in the tournament. The Mega Auction ahead of this years tournament is scheduled to take place on 12-13 February 2022 in Bengaluru.

Here is a complete list of all IPL 2022 team owners.

Complete List of all IPL 2022 Team Owners

IPL Team
Owners Name
Owners Business
Best IPL Season
Chennai Super Kings
N Srinivasan
Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited
Champions (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021)
Mumbai Indians
Mukesh Ambani
Reliance Industries
Champions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)
Kolkata Knight Riders
Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla
Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group
Champions (2012 and 2014)
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Kalanithi Maran
Sun TV Network
Champions (2016)
Rajasthan Royals
Manoj Badale
British Asian Trust
Champions (2008)
Delhi Capitals
Parth Jindal
GMR Group and JSW Group
Finalists (2020)
Punjab Kings
Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul
Bollywood actress,  Bombay Burmah Trading Company Limited
Finalists (2014)
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Anand Kripalu
United Spirits
Finalists (2009, 2011 & 2016)
Team Ahmedabad
Steve Koltes, Donald Mackenzie, Rolly van Rappard
CVC Capital Partners
Team Lucknow
Dr Sanjiv Goenka
RP Sanjiv Goenka Group

IPL Team Owner – Chennai Super Kings – N Srinivasan

IPL 2022 Chennai Super Kings - CSK Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value
CSK Team (Image Credits – Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the most popular and influential teams ever in the IPL history. The team has been the second most successful franchise in the IPL history with 4 titles. In IPL 2021, CSK beat KKR in the finals to lift their 4th IPL trophy under captain MS Dhoni.

Apart from their 4 trophies, CSK has been into the playoffs for all IPL seasons except IPL 2020. However, they were banned for 2 years from participating in IPL after the spot-fixing scandal by Justica Lodha committee.

IPL Team Owner – Delhi Capitals – Parth Jindal (JSW)

DC Team in IPL (Image Credits – Twitter)

Delhi Capitals earlier known as Delhi Daredevils is rejuvenated side since last few years. With the appointment of Ricky Ponting as the Head Coach, the team has progressed leaps and bounds in IPL. In IPL 2020, Delhi Capitals reached the final of the IPL for the first time ever where they lost to MI.

The team is co-owned by the GMR group and the JSW group. The team was named Delhi Daredevils back in 2008, but it was changed to Delhi Capitals, 2 years back when the 50 % stake was sold to the JSW group.

IPL Team Owner – Kolkata Knight Riders – Shah Rukh Khan & Juhi Chawla (Red Chillies Entertainment)

IPL 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders – KKR Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value
IPL 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders – Image Credits – Twitter

Kolkata Knight Riders is the third most successful team in IPL and are based in Kolkata. The team has won IPL title twice in 2012 & 2014 under Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy. They also reached the finals of IPL 2021 but lost to CSK in the finals.

The owner of KKR is Red Chillies Entertainment and the Mehta group (Red Chillies having a major stake). The team is a very popular one amongst the fans because of Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan.

IPL Team Owner – Mumbai Indians – Mukesh Ambani (Reliance)

IPL 2022 Retention: List of players released by Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians celebrating the IPL 2019 title. (Image Courtesy: Getty Images)

The most successful team in IPL history – Mumbai Indians with 5 titles to their name. Rohit Sharma has been fantastic leader since 2013 and has lead the team to record titles. India’s biggest business tycoon & chairman of Reliance group, Mr Mukesh Ambani is the owner of the Mumbai Indians team.

IPL Team Owner – Punjab Kings – Preity Zinta

IPL 2022 Punjab Kings – PBKS Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value
Punjab Kings Team in IPL (Image Credits – Sportzpics for IPL)

Bollywood actress Preity Zinta is the co-owner of the Punjab Kings IPL team along with Ness Wadia of the Wadia group. Mohit Burman and Karan Paul have partnerships in the franchise too.

However, the face of Punjab Kings is Preity Zinta. The dimple ‘Liril’ girl regularly marks her presence in most of the matches and cheer for the team. However, Punjab Kings is one of the teams who are still missing the silverware in their cabinets.

IPL Team Owner – Royal Challengers Bangalore – United Spirits Ltd.

IPL 2022 Retentions: List of players released by Royal Challengers Bangalore
IPL 2022 Retentions: List of players released by Royal Challengers Bangalore (Image Courtesy: RCBTweets/Twitter)

Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore is among the most followed teams in IPL. The star studded team has not been able to win IPL title till now but still they are most competitive team. They had been runner-ups in 2009, 2011 and 2016.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) team is owned by United Spirits Ltd. The team was bought by United Spirits owner – Vijay Mallya for $111.6 million ahead of inaugural edition. This was the second most expensive bid in the inaugural auction of IPL after Reliance industries bought Mumbai Indians for $111.9 million.

In July 2021, Prathmesh Mishra takes over the role of RCB Chairman from Anand Kripalu, who ended his tenure as Managing Director & CEO of Diageo India on June 30, 2021.

IPL Team Owner – Rajasthan Royals – Manoj Badale (British Asian Trust)

IPL 2022 Rajasthan Royals – RR Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value
IPL 2022 Rajasthan Royals – Image Credits – Twitter

The champions of the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008 – Rajasthan Royals belongs to Jaipur, Rajasthan. Though the team has been unsuccessful in winning any title since then. The team is jointly owned by Manoj Badale and Lachlan Murdoch.

IPL Team Owner – Sunrisers Hyderabad – Kalanithi Maran (Sun TV Network)

IPL 2022 Sunrisers Hyderabad - SRH Owner, CEO, Coaching staff & Brand Value
SRH CEO – Kaviya Maran (Image Credits – Twitter)

Sunrisers Hyderabad team is the underdogs of the IPL. After winning the IPL trophy in 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have entered the playoffs in next 4 seasons. The team is owned by the Sun TV Network owner Kalanithi Maran.

IPL Team Owner – Team Lucknow – Dr. Sanjiv Goenka

IPL 2022 - RPSG Group & CVC Capitals win bids for Lucknow & Ahmadabad Teams

Ahead of the IPL 2022 edition the IPL governing council added 2 new teams to make the tournament bigger with 10 teams. The new teams – Lucknow and Ahmadabad were taken up by RPSG & CVC Capitals respectively.

Lucknow IPL team was taken up by Dr. Sanjiv Goenka who is the owner of the team. The group previously managed the Royal Pune Supergiant franchise in IPL.

IPL Team Owner – Team Ahmadabad – CVC Capital Partners

The Ahmadabad IPL team was owned by CVC Capitals. The team got a highest bid by Steve Koltes, Donald Mackenzie, Rolly van Rappard led CVC Capitals.

Which is your favorite IPL team ever?

Jaswinder Singh
Jaswinder Singh - an avid cricket fan who likes to watch each and every ball of all cricket matches and is always filled up with all the records and stats about the teams and players. Jaswinder is the founder of CricAngel.com and if you would like to know how he started, just head on to read our About Us page. In his free time he likes to play with children and enjoy the nature.

Must Read