IPL 2022 Retention: List of players released by Punjab Kings

The Punjab Kings are yet to lift the IPL trophy and they came agonizingly close to making it to the playoffs in 2021. The problem was they were over-reliant on their opening pair of KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal.

They look to turning a new page in 2022 and have made only made 2 retentions. The two of them are Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh. So, who have they released then?

KL Rahul and Shami fail to make the cut

The big news is that KL Rahul will not be continuing with the Punjab Kings. It’s understood that it was his decision to move on and re-enter himself in the Mega Auction. PBKS are sure to miss their talismanic opener. He scored 659, 593, 670, and 626 runs in the last 4 seasons.

Shami who’s had a remarkable turn-around as a T20 bowler will be going under the hammer in the upcoming Mega Auctions. Also missing out on a spot in PBKS is Shahrukh Khan whose stokes are sure to have gone through the roof after his last-ball heroics in the recently concluded Syed Ali Mushtaq Trophy.

Ravi Bishnoi could have proved to be a handy addition to the team as well. He flourished under the tutelage of Anil Kumble. Bishnoi managed to pick up 24 wickets across two seasons at a healthy economy of 6.95. Murugan Ashwin formed the other part of this spinning duo. Both of them could have made for quite the formidable pair.

Complete list of players released by Punjab Kings

KL Rahul, Fabian Allen, Murugan Ashwin, Nathan Ellis, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Jalaj Saxena, Chris Jordan, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Aiden Markram, Mohammed Shami, Darshan Nalkande, Nicholas Pooran, Ishan Porel, Prabhsimran Singh, Adil Rashid, Ravi Bishnoi, Saurabh Kumar, Shahrukh Khan, Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Riley Meredith, and Jhyle Richardson

Shreyas D S
A devoted fan of the game ever since I was a foetus, I now write articles to make up for the fact that I wasn't picked for the roadside gully cricket league.

Must Read