MI vs KKR IPL 2022 – Who won today’s IPL match? Man of the Match, Point Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap

Published on

Who won today’s IPL match?: In the 56th match of IPL 2022, Kolkata Knight Riders beat Mumba Indians by 52 runs to keep their IPL Playoffs chances alive. Jasprit Bumrah’s maiden 5-wicket haul went in vain as KKR bundled out MI for 113 while chasing a target of 166 runs.

Today’s IPL match result

Chasing a target of 166 runs, Mumbai Indians started poorly as skipper Rohit Sharma was given caught behind when there was a clear gap between bat and ball. Ishan Kishan scored half-century with 51 runs off 43 deliveries but MI were not able to make a contest with the bat.

Mumbai Indians lost their last 6 wickets for just 13 runs as they slumped from 100/4 in 14 overs to 113 all out. Pat Cummins took 3 wickets while Andre Russell took 2 wickets.

The 52 runs victory has kept KKR IPL playoffs chances alive but they also need the other matches result in their favor.

Earlier, after winning the toss MI skipper – Rohit Sharma invited KKR to bat first. KKR openers – Venkatesh Iyer & Ajinkya Rahane started aggressively. Iyer scored 43 runs off 24 deliveries while in the middle order Nitish Rana scored 43 runs off 26 deliveries.

Jasprit Bumrah, who bowled three overs in the last 5 overs, took his maiden 5-fer as he conceded just 10 runs in his spell. Bumrah’s bowling helped MI restrict KKR to 165/9.

Today IPL match scorecard

Match 56 – KKR vs MI
Innings Team Score
1 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 165/4 (20 Overs
2 Mumbai Indians (MI) 113 (17.3 overs)
Result KKR won by 52 runs

Man of the match today IPL

Mumbai Indian’s fast bowler – Jasprit Bumrah won the player of the match award or his incredible fast bowling spell. He bowled 4 overs with a maiden and took 5 wickets for just 10 runs.

This is the 4th 5-fer for Mumbai Indians which is the most for any IPL team. However, his efforts went in vain as MI lost the match by 52 runs.

Today IPL match highlights

You can catch highlights of today’s IPL 2022 encounter between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) that took place at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai on official website of IPL. Here’s the link to the same:
Watch full highlights here

IPL 2022 Point Table

1Gujarat Titans (Q)1410400.31620
2Rajasthan Royals (Q)149500.29818
3Lucknow Super Giants (Q)149500.25118
4Royal Challengers Bangalore (Q)14860-0.25316
5Delhi Capitals147700.20414
6Kolkata Knight Riders146800.14612
7Punjab Kings13670-0.04312
8Sunrisers Hyderabad13670-0.2312
9Chennai Super Kings144100-0.2038
10Mumbai Indians144100-0.5068

IPL 2022 Orange Cap

1Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals171786357.53149.058345442116
2KL RahulLucknow Super Giants151561651.33135.384530243103
3Quinton de KockLucknow Super Giants151550836.29148.974723131140
4HH PandyaGujarat Titans151548744.27131.27491204487
5Shubman GillGujarat Titans161648334.5132.33511104296
6David MillerGujarat Titans161648168.71142.73322302994
7F du PlessisRoyal Challengers Bangalore161646831.2127.52491303196
8Shikhar DhawanPunjab Kings141446038.33122.67471203288
9SV SamsonRajasthan Royals171745828.63146.79432602155
10Deepak HoodaLucknow Super Giants151445132.21136.67361804059

IPL 2022 Purple Cap

1Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals171727680527117.7519.5215.115/40
2W HasarangaRoyal Challengers Bangalore161626571430117.5416.5413.155/18
3K RabadaPunjab Kings131323480406028.4617.6512.524/33
4Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad14142249.11444119.0320.1813.415/25
5KL YadavDelhi Capitals14142149.40419028.4419.9514.194/14
6Josh HazlewoodRoyal Challengers Bangalore12122046.31377018.1118.8513.954/25
7M ShamiGujarat Titans16162061048800824.418.33/25
8HV PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore15151953.32410017.6621.5816.894/34
9Rashid KhanGujarat Titans16161963.50421016.622.1620.164/24
10Prasidh KrishnaRajasthan Royals17171966.33551008.2929213/22

Latest Posts

Abu Dhabi T10 league 2022 - Complete Schedule, Teams, Squad, Venue, Time Table and Live Streaming details

Abu Dhabi T10 league 2022 – Complete Schedule, Teams, Squad, Venue, Time Table and...

The sixth season of Abu Dhabi T10 League is all set to begin on November 23 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. New...
Twitter Reactions after N Jagadeesan's 277 off 141 for Tamil Nadu breaks records of highest score in List A cricket

Twitter Reactions after N Jagadeesan’s 277 off 141 for Tamil Nadu breaks records of...

N Jagadeesan made 277 off 141 balls against Arunachal Pradesh at the Chinnaswamy Stadium to record highest individual score in men's List A cricket....
England tour of Australia 2022 – Schedule, Squads, Venues, Live Telecast And Live Streaming Details

England tour of Australia 2022 – Schedule, Squads, Venues, Live Telecast And Live Streaming...

England Tour of Australia 2022 Schedule, Squads, Venues, Live Telecast and Live Streaming Details.  The England Tour of Australia 2022 is set to start...

Also Read

“Why Jadeja was relieved of his CSK captaincy in IPL 2022” Reason revealed from CSK insider

India's premier all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was handed the captaincy of Chennai Super Kings ahead...

David Warner to skip BBL to play in UAE ILT20 as per reports

Australia's David Warner is going to participate in the inaugural edition of UAE's International...

IPL 2023 – Mumbai Indians started preparing for next season with England tour for uncapped players

Most successful team in Indian Premier League history with 5 titles - Mumbai Indians...